Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks
image of Montana State Parks logo

Montana State Parks & Recreation Board


Photo of a boy holding a fish. photo of two dome tents in a campsite along the Smith River. Photo of a Montana State Parks volunteer. Montana State Parks and Recreation Board logo

Montana State Parks & Recreation Board

The Montana State Parks & Recreation Board sets policies and provides direction for the management, protection, conservation and preservation for Montana’s state parks and associated recreational resources.

<< Back to About Us

Meeting Dates & Agendas

Next Board Meeting

  • Tuesday, February 20, 2018
  • Travelers' Rest State Park
  • Lolo, MT 59487
  • 406-444-3750
  • Live audio stream will be available on our website the day of the meeting.
  • Live audio stream not available for this meeting.

October 24, 2017

Work Session

  • 9:00 – 10:30 a.m.  
    1. Overview of Parks Budgets – Fiscal Year Operating, Capital, Recreation Programs, and Funds Balances – Dustin Temple
    2. Role and Function of the Board – FWP Legal (Becky Dockter/Zach Zipfel)
    3. Board Meeting Protocol – Angie Grove
    4. Travel reimbursements and related Board processes – Tom Reilly

Board Meeting Agenda

  • 10:45 a.m. Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance
  • 10:50 a.m. Administrative Items:
    • Introduction of Board Members
    • Approval of July 6, 2017 Meeting Minutes
    • Anticipated Meeting Schedule
    • Decision on Board Vice-Chair
  • 11:15 a.m. Public Comment for items not on agenda
  • 11:30 a.m. Introductions/Orientation
    • Introduction – Director Martha Williams
    • Introduction of Parks Division Staff – Tom Reilly   Cover Sheet
    • Statewide Orientation of Montana State Parks – Tom Reilly   Cover Sheet
  • 12:00 p.m. Lt. Governor Cooney - LUNCH
  • 1:00 p.m. Continuation of State Parks Introductions/Orientation – Tom Reilly
  • 2:00 p.m. Recognition of State Parks Committee/Staff – National Association of State Parks Director’s (NASPD) Conference – Missoula, 2017   Cover Sheet
  • 2:10 p.m. Parks-In-Focus Initiative – Update
  • 2:20 p.m. Performance Audit – Update
  • 2:30 p.m. Montana State Parks Foundation – Coby Gierke, Executive Director
  • 2:45 p.m. Possible Topics for the Next/Future Board Meetings
  • 3:00 p.m. Adjourn
  • Note: The Board may take action on all matters specifically noted on this agenda. Times may vary as much as one hour – earlier or later.
  • The Department ensures its meetings are fully accessible to persons with disabilities. If special accommodations are needed, contact the Parks Division at (406) 444-3750.

Past Meeting Agendas »

Media Contact
  • Pat Doyle
  • Marketing and Communications Manager
  • Montana State Parks
  • (406) 444-3818
  • (406) 422-9809 c
About the Board

The Montana State Parks & Recreation Board is a citizen-led board appointed by the governor that consists of five members, one member from each district in the state. Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks’ Director, Martha Williams, serves as secretary to the board.

Map of state districts and counties

To find out more about the board, see the   Montana State Parks & Recreation Board information sheet (200 KB)

Board Members
photo of Angie Grove

Angie Grove

District 1 (Northwest)

Angie Grove, Helena (Chair)

Angie Grove has 28 years with the Montana Legislative Audit Division, working specifically with the State Parks Division.

photo of Jeff Welch

Jeff Welch

District 2 (Southwest)

Jeff Welch, Livingston

Jeff Welch is the president and founder of MERCURYcsc in Bozeman.

photo of Mary Sheehy Moe

Mary Sheehy Moe

District 3 (North Central)

Mary Sheehy Moe, Great Falls

Mary Sheehy Moe had a distinctive career in education, most recently serving as the Deputy Commissioner for Two-Year Education for the Montana University System, and served as a State Legislator.

photo of Betty Stone

Betty Stone

District 4 (North East)

Betty Stone, Glasgow

Betty Stone has been the manager at the Cottonwood Inn for 28 years and a co-owner since 2004. She also serves as past chair and director of Two Rivers Economic Growth, development director of Missouri River Country and is on the Montana Lodging and Hospitality Association Board.

Photo of Scott Brown

Scott Brown

District 5 (South East)

Scott Brown, Billings

Scott Brown is the owner of The Base Camp in Helena and Billings and is an avid outdoor enthusiast.


<< Back to About Us

  • navigation button
  • button and link to permit information
  • News
  • Events
  • Volunteer
  • button linking to public notices
  • Learn with us
  • Protect and Respect
  • fee button
  • For Kids
  • Your Safety
  • Americorps
  • Link to Recreation Programs
  • Parks & Recreation Board button
  • Partners
  • image of nonresident park entrance pass and link to online licensing service
  • navigation button
  • Celebrating 75 Years TV Spot
  • image and link to Celebrating 75 Years TV Spot
  • Purchase our license plate
  • image and link to purchase a license plate
Web Template Design MT Office of Tourism